Five Must See Moments from the Emmy Awards #LGBTQ #Emmys

On September 18th, LGBTQ people, particularly LGBTQ women, had an historic night at the Emmy Awards, marking wins in several categories throughout the evening. In case you missed it, here are five must see moments celebrating diversity and recognizing the LGBTQ community:

1.     Jeffrey Tambor wins Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series for Transparent: In his acceptance speech, Tambor called on Hollywood to hire more transgender actors. “I just hope there are more opportunities for transgender talent,” he said. “I would very much like to be the last cisgender male playing a transgender female. I think we are there now.”

2.     Jill Soloway wins Outstanding Directing For A Comedy Series for Transparent: Soloway celebrated the transgender community and also highlighted the violence against transgender women in her acceptance speech. “When you take women, people of color, trans people, queer people, and you put them at the center of the story, the subjects instead of the objects, you change the world, we found out,” she said. “Thank you to the trans community for your lived lives. We need to stop violence against transgender woman.”

3.     Executive producers Ryan Murphy and Nina Jacobson win Outstanding Limited Series for The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story: Longtime HRC supporters and LGBTQ advocates Murphy and Jacobson picked up an Emmy for their hit series The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story.

4.     Sarah Paulson wins Outstanding Lead Actress In A Limited Series Or Movie for The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story: Paulson took home an Emmy for her standout role in The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story, telling her partner Holland Taylor she loved her in her acceptance speech. Meanwhile, Taylor tweeted her love for Paulson throughout the evening.

5.     Kate McKinnon wins Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series for Saturday Night Live (SNL): SNL comic genius Kate McKinnon, who is openly lesbian, thanked Ellen DeGeneres and Hillary Clinton in her emotional acceptance speech.


Enviroshop is maintained by dedicated NetSys Interactive Inc. owners & employees who generously contribute their time to maintenance & editing, web design, custom programming, & website hosting for Enviroshop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen − 11 =